Stob Coire na Ceannain

I broke the gear shifter on my bike last night. This is the handlebar mounted unit with levers which in this case shifts ratios on the front sprcoket. I couldn't tell, till this morning upon examination, what the problem was. I had hoped just a cable but no a wee bit which grasps the cable inside had broken off.

I went of to the bike shop in Inverlochy. I showed the broken component to guy in the shop and as I suspected it couldn't be bought on its own. I had to buy a complete assembly which includes the brake lever as well. He was very helpful, up beat and full of good advice.

I returned home knowing I had a path to full working order again. I bolted the new part on fine but the sheathing of the old brake cable did not fit the new handle arrangement. I returned to the bike shop this time to buy a new brake cable too. In order to not make it too simple this is routed through the top tube of the frame.

Its obviously a fashion dictate but the new brake lever is much shorter than the original and I feel that I am having to take a real hard (knuckles white) squeeze of the lever to get any slowing down affect from the rear caliper. Also the precise setting of derailleurs is incredibly awkward and fickle and I have upset it on dismantling of the front gear cable. I have it all back together but cannot easily select the big sprocket.

I have had mucky hands most of the afternoon and not many blip options so this is the evening light on Stob Coire na Ceannain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.