Hamburg motorbikers' church service...

Today we were driving around the countryside hoping to find a deer to blip, when we heard on the radio that the Hamburg church service for bikers (which is held once a year at the Michel Church), had just finished and that the motorway was closed as they were all (35,000 of them!) going to be riding in convoy to a neighbouring town where they would stop for a while, before going their separate ways. We decided to go to a nearby motorway bridge and wait for them to pass... It was amazing - as you can see one whole side of the motorway was reserved just for them to pass. They were tooting and waving and generally having a lovely time. They'd all been given yellow ribbons during the service to tie onto their bikes too.
:-)

What were my humans thinking...? One minute they were talking about stopping the car by a shady hedgerow and taking me for a lovely walk down a country lane, the next we're rushing off to stand on a concrete bridge and watch cars pass... Well how BORING is this? - is what I was thinking, when suddenly there was the most horrendous racket with tooting horns and cheering and thousands of motorbike engines rumbling and whining right under my rather uneasy little nose... I was picked up and cuddled and then I started to enjoy it. Just as I was starting to relax, they decided that they had had enough and wanted to go home to sit on the balcony. Well at least that meant I'd get my early evening meal. Us dogs are so at the mercy of our humans' whims... Still I get a lot of love so I'm not complaining (too much!).

Alfred Dog - currently sitting on the balcony, soaking up the sun, with a pleasantly satisfied belly :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.