Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

I went up to the loch a little later today basing it more on how light it was outside rather than the time. When I got there, nothing was around but as I got further into the park the little female flew over from somewhere and landed in front of me. As I was feeding her the male flew across and was backlit by a beautiful red cloud! It would have made a great shot but I was feeding the little female at the time so just watched . I think you sometimes benefit from just looking and enjoying rather than scrambling for a camera. Anyhow I digress! The male landed on the dovecote and would not come down (afraid of the little female I think). I gave the little female a good half of what I had and made for the clearing. When I arrived the little female was waiting for me (so clever) and the male landed just far enough away from her so as not to annoy her. I split the remainder of the fish between them then made for home. Loads of crows again along with the gull family! They all got biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.