Orchid99

By orchid99

Being a tourist

is seriously hard work.

Well it is these days.
Before the pandemic and before everyone kept going on strike, it was pleasurable and remarkably possible.

I took a train from Birmingham International to Euston. That was fine but when I looked at trains home - no apparent strike - I find I’ve got a long trek, with replacement buses……but that’s tomorrow.

My bus driver from Euston to my hotel decided to skip the stop for the British Museum. No worries. Just a much longer trek on the roughest of uneven pavements.

I tried to get into the China exhibition. I hadn’t booked in advance as I wasn’t sure I’d actually get to London. No tickets left. No worries. There’s always so much to see in the British Museum.

I noticed that the Elgin Marbles are closed…. Surely they aren’t among the items they’ve lost !!!

Swelteringly hot, but I’ve just had a lovely fresh mint tea.,..and I’ll make my way shortly to meet my friend in a fabulous authentic Naples pizza place before we go to the final dress rehearsal of “La Forza del Destino” an opera that I’ve never seen….

I daren’t buy full price tickets these days, or book a hotel without free cancellation.

I was really stressed about coming today…..but I love my adventures and am determined to keep trying.

But being a tourist is unpredictable……and hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.