Nicky

By nicky

Handle

Today I finally put a handle on this jug so it’s now waiting for bisque firing. It was a bit chaotic at the pottery today as they were celebrating 150 years of the pottery so there was a party going on with talks and demonstrations. They seem to have sort of forgotten that a class takes place at 3.30 on a Sunday but luckily the tutor had remembered and we managed to find some space to carry on with our making while the event was going on around us. There was a “150 mug” challenge being run for members of the pottery to make mugs for use in the cafe, so I thought I’d have a go at that today. I threw three reasonable ones, roughly following the shape of the sample one, but I don’t know if they’ll be good enough. A technician will judge which can be used, and will then add the handles (phew, I won’t have to add my own handle!), glaze and fire them, and them give to the cafe. It’s a great idea but I do t think they’d had as much interest from members as they’d hoped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.