Today's the day

By sheilwill

Fallside

Today's the day . . . . . . . . . . . to come full circle

As I think I said, we've been doing a bit of family history research on this trip - of my father's ancestors in Kincardineshire and Aberdeenshire.  Will had already done a lot of online research so we already had a lot of information - but it was more a case of finding actual evidence of people and places.

In my case, the places are farms, because that's what my ancestors were.  They were tenant farmers on land that was unforgiving and hard work - the sort of places written about so poignantly by Lewis Grassic Gibbon in his novel ' Sunset Song'.  This is one such farm, known as Fallside and farmed by my great-great-great-grandparents Archibald and Mary Falconer.  These two were born at the start of the 19th century and lived until the 1880s.  I wrote a bit about them in a previous blip.

And now that I've seen where they lived and died (see extra) I feel I've come full circle.  It really does make it all seem very real . . . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.