LIFE!!!

By greengirl

Heroes

Well I’ve had a wonderful day on the South Downs - Strava says I walked 26.5 miles (and 3340 fr of ascent) in 8 hrs and 50 minutes. That’s just about 3 mph which I think is pretty impressive for me, but would you believe that I was the very last person (of 164) to arrive at the East Dean checkpoint? Half of those were runners and the other half set off at (and kept up) an incredible pace. In order to keep the last but one person in my sights, I couldn’t stop for photos or to have a drink. Not like my walks with Joanna or Fiona!

When I reached East Dean it was dark and I realised that I didn’t want to walk in the dark on my own. So I made the decision to retire and be driven back to Plumpton, where I’m now waiting for Sarah and Chris to finish. I don’t regret my decision, I’ve had a lovely walk and feel fine.

My photo is of members of the LDWA who were working in the kitchen at East Dean to provide us with a hot meal. There are members staffing checkpoints and providing food and encouragement all through the night. Thank you to you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.