madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Wondrous!

I recently found out that the dairy on the opposite side of the river to Calstock sells their milk in these bottles! It was quite by chance I found out and was due to my dogwalker who lives on the opposite side - In Devon! His car radiator had sprung a leak and he needed water and brought this bottle to be filled up. I was gobsmacked and delighted! I have never seen these bottles for sale anywhere! I asked him to buy me a bottle as I think it would look great with fairy lights inside! When I  received it I discovered from the information on the back that they had  a facebook page. It was from here I discovered another amazing fact - they sold  milk and milkshake  at The Copper Inn on the way to Tavistock - so of course  I planned a visit next time I was that way!
Today was the day as I had an optician appointment in Tavistock. I had the usual machine tests that look like a scene from the matrix, then the eye test with the optician with a dour sense of humour! Today he told me I was unlikely to develop glaucoma perhaps until I was very old i.e. I would be dead before I developed it despite my family history of it! Also I would likely get cataracts - when I asked why he said it was a natural process of aging - I said it sounded like a design fault. He demurred and said it begins to develop in our forties - which in the past was a normal lifespan!! I think he would make a great undertaker! Anyway my eyes are no worse than at my last exam 2 years ago so yay to that and not having to pay for new lenses and glasses! 
I had planned to have a look round some of the shops as it was my first visit to Tavistock since my accident and I wanted to take photos. However I felt rather light headed - a feeling that seems to be happening daily, not sure if it's related to my IBS but it's not pleasant. Also navigating the pavements and people was a little strenuous! I did stop to buy olives but that was it! Most unlike me to only buy 1 thing from the deli! 
So - a visit to the milk  inn! Well! It was a wooden shed with two machines. One dispensed the bottles and then you made your choice of  milk or milkshake! What fun! I bought a litre bottle of banana milkshake then 500ml of milk and two empty bottles to give to my sister at  Christmas! I noticed a farm shop by the side of the inn so investigated that and bought scones, jam and clotted cream! On chatting to the lady I found out the Dairy does different t bottles for the time of year - wreaths at Christmas, eggs at Easter, hearts at Valentines! I'm so going to buy each one over the coming year!!! Maybe there are more !
When I got home I had a taste of both milks - it's been a long time since I had banana milkshake and it was delicious! The milk was even better! The best I have ever tasted! Speaking to my dog walker the next day he said it was because it was non-homogenised and from the same herd. Well I can say they have wonderful fields to graze on and the best view of the bridge and Calstock - happy cows makes delicious milk! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.