Picture Consequences

By consequences

In freefall

The ascent had made me feel out of control; the fall left me completely powerless.

As I plunged back through the layer of cloud, I was still looking up. It was some relief not to be facing the ground - not that I would have known how to change my angle if I'd wanted to.

If I had been facing downwards, I knew with a chilling certainty what I would see as the ground rushed towards me: the body of the young man - my body - lying on the path below the bridge.

What had gone through his mind as his feet slipped from under him and he fell - I fell - from the wall?

Perhaps he wished he couldn't be hurt.

Perhaps he wished he was somewhere else completely.

Perhaps he wished he could fly.

As gravity worked its mundane magic and I fell faster, I knew now that he'd been out of luck.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.