Picture Consequences

By consequences

Inescapable

As I realised what I'd been trying to escape, I saw just as clearly that it was inevitable.

Some things will not be denied.

It was almost funny. I couldn't even get the whole "life flashing before your eyes" thing right, it seemed. But then, we get so many things wrong in this life. One slip can turn your world upside-down.

My one big regret was that I wouldn't get to say goodbye to Jen. Tell her I loved her. Tell her properly.

But it was all slipping away now. Jen was an idea, a word. I really couldn't picture her face in my mind any more.

Ah, Jen...

With a lurch, I realised I was falling face-downward now, and wasn't the slightest bit surprised to see what I was falling towards...

But then, why worry about falling? After all, what's the old joke? Ah yes:

it's

not

the

fall

that

kills

you

it's

the

sudden





stop.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.