ZE1Christie

By ZE1Christie

Purple Sun

A breezy day with gales.  Dry all day, mostly cloudy with sunny spells, then hazy in the afternoon and evening.  Think I slept through Storm Agnes.

Up early, a morning around the house, then headed out walkies and delivered leaflets.  Popped by Laura's on my way to work.  A late start and shift in the airport, mostly on the check-in desk.  All flights on time, apart from 4pm Aberdeen, which turned back and then cancelled.  We got everyone on the last flight.  An oil and gas flight declared a full emergency, thankfully all ok.  Walkies with Sammy, now feet up. 

The sunshine early on seemed normal, but when I went out for my break at 430pm, there was an odd light about.  I looked up to the sky, and to my amazement, the sun was shining purple through the haze.  A full moon tonight, which is also showing a pinky purple look, not very bright either.  The apocalyptic phenomenon has been caused by Storm Agnes, bringing smoke from the Canadian wildfires.  I'm not sure if it's something we should worry about or not, but it certainly is pretty to see.  Note the sun's black spots, also not sure why the sky went black taking the photo.  Taken at Sumburgh Airport.  Extra from Scalloway tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.