58jc

By 58jc

Fish

The sun was shining and we didn't have plans so decided on a trip to the coast to stock up on fish.  We visited the care home first and I felt quite sad - MIL was tearful and a bit out of sorts.  Any regular readers will know that I don't really have a 'connection' but I did feel sad and compassion as she has lived and looked after herself perfectly well until she was around 87 but then all downhill since then.  A care home is the best place for her physically but as she still has most of her marbles, is not the best place for her mentally and the lack of independence after all the years looking after herself is very sad.  I have given No.2 strict instructions that I want a one way ticket to Switzerland or Holland if I am ever in the same position.

After our visit we drove to the coast and got ourselves settled on the beach however it was not as warm as I had hoped and after chips and our rolls and the last few chapters of my book we packed up and went for a walk.  There is a lovely sewing shop in Hythe so I bought a pack of patchwork pieces for No.1 who is interested in making a quilt for a friend expecting her first baby.

Home for some cheese and a glass of wine as still full up from chips.  Another rubbish film on Netflix - I need to start doing some research of recommendations as I spent too many evening hours watching rubbish tv.

No.2 sent pictures from the wedding he was attending - looking very sharp in his new suit. The first of his class to get married.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.