BikerBabe

By BikerBabe

Patina

A neighbour of my parents was dabbling in buying & antiques several years ago and hence his nickname became Lovejoy for a while :-D

He had from a house clearance this old Roberts transistor radio but could not get it to work, and after I commented it would be nice just on show, he kindly offered it as a gift that I gratefully accepted.

I had a slightly unoriginal idea of making a fancy Bluetooth speaker from it as a lockdown project but at the time the requisite parts became difficult to obtain and it has sat on a high wall unit in the room where my other hipster music device lives, looking down moodily.

I love it's patina and can only dream of the pops & crackles that came from the single speaker as it's past owner spun the tuning knob across the medium or long wave bands searching for some detail on what weather may be expected in Tyne, Dogger or German Bight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.