CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

BINJURY

On a day when I really needed to start early and get on with things, I managed to hit my foot with the wheelie bin* I was trying to put out for collection this morning, and (don't read the next bit if you're squeamish) tear the big toenail nearly off. After deciding I hadn't broken my toe and that I couldn't clean and dress it myself I took myself down to the Minor Injuries Unit at the hospital armed with some fruit and a bottle of water in case I had to spend hours there. There was no queue, I was seen straight away and was home again - sans nail, toe dressed, jabbed against tetanus - in 40 minutes. Brilliant NHS job again. Nurse Katy also told me to rest with leg raised as much as possible, but that's not going to happen for a few days, although I am just stopping for a cup of tea and maybe a small treat for being such a brave girl!

*The wheelie bin was extra heavy as I'd spent yesterday evening emptying and cleaning lots of old jars and bottles for recycling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.