Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

As I approached the loch a heron flew from the park and landed on a tenement roof again then flew back into the park. Not sure which heron it was as there were 6 Heron waiting for me near the gate, the little female (pictured) the nervy male, the middle male, the other adult male and 2 that I did not recognise. Going on their plumage development, they were both around the age of the little female and were not showing signs of being frightened so I assume they may have been unknowns I have fed before.
Mid way through feeding them the adult male stretched up and leaned forward focusing on a hedge in front of him, he ignored any other food. I assume he saw a mouse or a rat and was intent on having it. It meant more for the others though.
Lots of crows followed me out of the park getting biscuits as  I went. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.