Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

As I approached the loch this morning I saw the Heron on top of the tenement roof again by the time I had reached the entrance it had flown down and into the park. There were 7 Heron again right up at the entrance. They were so close a woman passing on the street saw them and stopped at the gate then came in to watch for a while. The little female (pictured),  the middle male and the nervy male were the only ones I recognised. The other 4 appeared to be a similar age to the little female. I am guessing that as the other adult male, the young male and the chick weren't around, there must be at least 10 heron in the park.
Goodness knows how many crows there are but they cleared me out this morning.
I read a tip for a "dirty fix" for my pentax K70 (which has the dreaded aperture block problem). It involves putting the moving object scene mode on then firing about a dozen shots in quick succession. This seems to free up the aperture from the permanently magnetised solenoid (which is the root of the problem) and allows the camera to work as normal. It has to be repeated each time the camera is switched on though. Still don't think I would take it with me as my sole camera but it can be used for the time being. I used it this morning for the first time in months. 
The extra was a test shot of morag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.