RMH

By RMH

Hormonal!

She had me up a lot of last night - crying, not settling, cuddling into me with her head on my lap (this was at 1am!), covering me in kisses, staring at me.
It started freakin’ me out and worrying me that something serious might be wrong. Perhaps with her heart. Had I let her run too long during our walk?
Some time about 2am I decided that I needed Cathie’s opinion. I stood in her doorway and was surprised at how (relatively) quickly she responded to me. She wasn’t really quite awake as I found out tonight. We discussed it. Scout was breathing normal normal rate, it wasn’t laboured in anyway. She was able to easily jump up and down from the bed. Her tail was up and wagging. We decided to leave her another hour then decide if we needed to call the vet.
She curled up on my bed and fell asleep. She woke me up a couple times but mostly slept peacefully beside me on my bed.
I was anxious to see her after work. She greeted me as normal although a little more whiny and she had taken the coverings off the wing chair again.
Fed mom, walked the dogs with Cathie in town, had dinner … Cathie looked up phantom pregnancy in dogs. Conclusion: we think she is just doing the hormonal thing 6-8 weeks after being in heat (I thought it would have been sooner!)
I remember Jewelz doing this crying thing when she had a squeaky toy (particularly the red one) in her mouth. Scout hasn’t picked one toy but which ever one is there!
I feel much better realising that’s all it is but I sure hope it doesn’t last too long and that I can sleep tonight. (But I do like when she snuggles all night!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.