Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Thursday: Abalone Caye

I’ve had a nicely full day with my visiting colleague. His work focus is environmental so today we headed down south to Punta Gorda, in Toledo District, to go out with a marine protection organisation who monitor illegal fishing and undertake marine protection,

It was a 3 hour drive down there but very interesting and scenic.  Once there, we were taken by boat to a ranger station on Abalone Caye.  On our way there we passed by the gloriously named islands of ‘Inside Sheephead’, ‘Outside Sheephead’ and ‘Hen and Chicken’.  

From there we headed through mangroves to another station where we had lunch and heard more of the work they do on the water.  On the way back, they stopped for some snorkelling.  I passed today as it was a bit choppy but my colleague loved it.

From there, it was three hours back to Belmopan.  A long day but very enjoyable.  

I’ve added a couple of extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.