The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Groundhog Lunch

Dear O'H dear, Lovely Tea Jenny and The Mini Princesses,

I went for lunch with Mary Doll & Victor today.

It started as we were waiting in the queue (at the garden centre obviously) for a table...

Mary Doll asked if I could see what the soup choices were today. I started reading them from the board…with her doing it at the same time!

MD: How thick do you think the chicken and mushroom soup is?

Me: Funnily enough, I have NO idea about the viscosity of the soups here. Please don’t start asking people who work here about this.

2 seconds later, MD collared an unsuspecting waitress who made the mistake of walking past us in the queue and was very confused by this question. It was established that it was more of a broth (chunks of chicken) so MD decided on the butternut squash soup as previous experience had dictated that it was suitably thick!

But MD is quite particular when she’s ordering. I joked that her order would be (in a MD being slightly posh voice) “I’ll take the butternut squash and pepper soup with a scone. A fruit scone, not cheese. With jam instead of butter. I’d also like a regular, decaf americano with hot milk on the side. And can we have the drinks at the same time as the food please?”

Victor laughed and just at that, someone came to take our order.

Mary Doll started…”I’ll take the butternut squash and pepper soup with a scone. A fruit scone, n…””

And then she lost it with a fit of the giggles. Which set Victor off too. So I finished the rest of the order and the poor waitress went off in no doubt that what we really need is family therapy!

C

PS This is Murphy tapping on the window to get in, despite the door next to him being WIDE OPEN.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.