ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

No Rehearsal

Technically, I’ve had two rehearsals today - one for Panto this afternoon, where I’ve been striding around the stage doing a lot of shouting, and one this evening for Kendal Operatic Society’s production of The Addams Family Musical. For that one, I’ve had to be very quiet and not seen at all, as I’m working backstage, moving scenery.
And it’s almost like “no rehearsal” as tonight’s Tech run is the first time I’ve seen the set and props - or even seen any of the show! But I’ve been doing backstage for KAOS for thirty odd years so will use tonight to pick up the key moments when a scene change is required. I’m in charge of a revolving flat which contains a door. The main issue is knowing when the door should be unlocked so actors can go through it, and when it should be locked so it doesn’t swing open and reveal me standing behind the flat!
A few moments of frenetic activity, but generally the scene changes are straightforward. For a tech run where the scenery is new to everyone, it actually went pretty smoothly and the show almost ran to time. Inevitably, there will be a meeting between stage manager and director to tidy up a few loose ends before Dress Rehearsal tomorrow night, but I don’t think there is anything that requires majorly reworking. We will have full band and lighting tomorrow, so looking forward to seeing what that adds to the show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.