KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Mixed messages

I thought I was loved,
he thought he'd won a hanky!
Perspective is key!

Busy day, big social work meeting for Ben, quick dog walks, catch up with the neighbours, spoke to my mum, diabetes appointment for Ben with his annual review which means blood tests and urine samples, podiatrist etc. We managed the whole diabetes appointment and Ben had been mostly 'on track', he was the only person in the clinic so he had all the nurses and doctors' attention but it was still a relief to walk outside and be done.  At our local hospital parking is a major issue and on top of that the payment machines on exit are really temperamental and also have different capabilities, so only some use card payment and only some use notes instead of coins, it's a pain and we've had many a meltdown over the years when a machine has malfunctioned.  Today we approached the nearest one with a hopeful five pound note and I could see the screen was full of black and white writing showing error codes etc.  I braced for an issue but managed to read the last line of text which said, 'Panic Occurred'  Ben was ready to blow but when I read it out he totally saw the funny side and the drama was diffused.  We went off in search of another machine and magically found a car park attendant (they are scarce) who told us we were OK to exit without paying and then all was well with the world! 
Photo is from when I sat down to call my mum and Leo leapt up to join me, he nuzzled into my arm, in a way I perceived to be affectionate but within seconds he'd found a hanky up my sleeve and was away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.