Today's the day

By sheilwill

Top of Goatfell

Today's the day ........................ to look back

My blip today, which is a picture of my Mum on top of Arran's highest peak, Goatfell, is for son Rob - because when we were on Arran recently, he climbed it as well.

He did really well to get to the top actually, because he was on his own and it was the first time he had ever been to Arran - and the top of Goatfell was in the swirling cloud.  So the view from the top that he had was nothing like this!  But I came across this ancient slide from my Dad's collection today and I thought it might interest him.  

It was taken in September 1964, when my mother (his Grandma) would have been not much older than he is now.  We were on holiday in Arran as a family - and in the extra, you can see me, my mother and my sister at the trig-point.  Funny thing is, I can remember exactly how I felt at that point - ie scared stiff, exhausted and wanting to be back at base.

Ah - those memories, conjured up instantly from an old picture ..................!     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.