Today's the day

By sheilwill

Orchid

Today's the day .................... to thrive on neglect

Orchids are the most amazing plants - they require absolutely nothing in the way of care - indeed, they positively thrive on neglect.

Take this one above.  This is the third time that it has produced a stem of flower buds that have slowly opened over the course of several weeks, to reveal these exquisitely exotic creations.  I have done nothing to nurture it - apart from eventually chopping off the flower stem just before it finishes flowering.  This was a tip given to me by my good friend, Knottman2.

I now have several in-house orchids, at various stages in the flower-producing state - and we were given a beautiful new, yellow orchid recently as an anniversary present by Will's cousin, Jane - a new colour for me.  Then today, completely out of the blue, Will bought me a present of some 'Orchid Feed'.  He's obviously been noticing how successful my orchid-growing skills have become?!  

The orchids won't know what's hit them ...................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.