River of Flowers

By doffy

Saturday: Mahonia

All the plants in my garden are my favourites, as are all my children :-))
This Mahonia had a very severe pruning back in May - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3104134307212429694 - and I’m pleasantly surprised that there are lots of clumps of flower buds where I’d pruned as well as on the few long branches I’d left, just in case … the Mahonia is my current favourite, because it’s going to feed so many pollinators and birds over the next few months, it’s also valuable as shelter for many little birds, the leaves are very prickly and predators think twice before entering! :-))

It wasn’t a day for being outdoors, chilly breeze from the east, heavy showers of rain and just generally grey and very damp …

I’m reading another of Edward Marston’s exciting books, which I’ll blip when desperate …

Biscuits out for the hedgehog family around 4pm, it was getting dark but I saw the mum and her 3 babies who are growing well due to healthy appetites :-)

Hope your Saturday was fun and/or relaxing! :-)) xxx

Love and hugs to all my family XXXX XXX XX

Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.