Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

A few early fireworks last night but nothing like the normal lead up. Perhaps the increased cost of living has one bonus. Tonight will be the problem though. Anyway as I approached the park I spotted a heron flying overhead. It landed on a tenement roof. As I passed the tenement I could hear it making it's little grunt noise. When I turned into the park the heron approached from all directions. A man I have got to know through going to the park was leaving with his dog (it is the only dog that ignores the heron and they do not bother about him) mentioned that it was really amazing to see! I gave his dog a couple of biscuits then started to feed the heron. The little female (pictured), the middle male and the nervy male (not seen him for a few days) were on one side and the other female was behind me. The little female was quite tolerant of the other two on her side of the path. I fed them all, I even gave a bit to one of the crows who was staring up at me. 
I then made my way to the clearing and was surprised to see the adult male waiting for me on the path. The middle male approached but was chased off by the adult male (it is all about territory I suspect). The male got his full share plus the bit extra I had taken for him. I then made my way home followed by the crows (as far as the end of the road running the length of the park).
The extra is the male on the path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.