scottrhale

By scottrhale

Grandma

A picture of my grandma on my mother’s side. She played basketball in high school on a team that won the state championship. I have fond memories of her playing ball with me in our backyard. We had a plywood hoop mounted to a pole in a concert filled tire. The court was hard packed dirt and fairly dusty, she was always very orderly and proper so watching her have fun playing in the dirt with us kids was something that made an impression.
As I recall she was an excellent shot and played without mercy for us kids. Her other favorite activity was pinning us down and ticking us. My grandfather would bring a pocket full of $1 bills and gradually/ randomly hand them to us over the 2 to 3 day visit. We would eagerly translate those dollars into treats from the ice cream man or from the school concession stand.
My grandmother suffered from Alzheimers and died in the early 2000’s. Last week my grandfather contracted covid and ended up in the hospital. We weren’t sure how it was going to go but he is a tough old guy and comes home on Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.