BRIANW

By BRIANW

Doom Looping, Hyde Park, London

Today was one of those days, in retrospect, which was so bad, that after a period of  reflection, it was actually funnily awful or awfully funny depending on the angle I viewed it from.
Work has, again, dried up to a trickle so I spent my day doing the loop from the horrible little studio I'm now stuck in up to the goods lift to see if there were any artworks in there (there very rarely are) and then back past the bigger studio (where I used to work) to see if there was anything there that I could take to shoot (there very rarely is). I did this multiple times today and the total culmination of my efforts was six images shot all day.
The highlight of my day was getting out for a walk to Hyde Park and back (the loop theme again) where I took today's image of the construction of the annual Winter Wonderland.The sun even popped out!
 The badness reasserted itself on the way home with a missed train connection which led to a combined effort of three trains, all of which were late, by 16 minutes, 6 minutes and 8 minutes respectively. I was swearily unimpressed. I found the following description of a doom loop:

"A doom loop is described as a scenario in which one negative thought leads to the next, and the next, in a continuous loop. One negative event triggers another, which can compound the first or trigger the next".

I did recognise that completely when I first, eventually, got home but now after a glass or two of wine and an episode of Bake Off I can see the funny side. At least tomorrow can't be that bad, surely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.