BRIANW

By BRIANW

Cresting A Red Wave, Green Park, London

After a long, slow week it was finally Friday and so I knew the trains would be quieter (hurrah!) and that the journey home would be relaxing instead of fraught (another hurrah).
At lunchtime I decided to take myself off to the Photographers' Gallery to see a retrospective of Daido Moriyama's career. It was such a fascinating experience, which started with being directed to the lift - the exhibition was meant to work from the top floor down. The lift itself was filled with multiple repeating images of a black and white eye which seemed to look right back at you!
His photographs have such a febrile, unsettling quality to them and encompass a sensory overload which is expanded with blown out highlights, blur and, distorted angles and an off kilter use of composition.
I felt a bit lost in the blizzard of images, both colour and black and white, so I may well need to go back again to absorb it all.
I took today's image as a sort of response to what I saw. I was walking through Green Park on the way to Victoria when I saw these leaves lit up by the red light from nearby building works (they really were that neon red!) and so I went with the slow exposure to try and capture the feeling of a cresting wave.
The best part of the day, though, was meeting my brother off the train and going for a pint. We always have such lovely time and it's a moment (or two) I always treasure and look forward to and the end of a working week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.