PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Doyenné du Comice

I think I do this post every year, as I always need to mark the moment, at this time of year, when the Comice Pear makes an appearance. The ‘Queen of Pears’ I love them dearly. I do not eat any other pear as I find them all pretty tasteless, but this one - sweet, aromatic, silky texture, truly delicious. 


The difficulty is finding them. They are rarely in regular supermarkets and, if they are, they are small ones generally from the Netherlands and not at all good. The best ones are British grown and huge in size. The other problem is that they always look a bit battered and brown so I suppose this might be thought to put people off. But the skin is never a problem - cut one open and it is perfect inside - see extra. I found these in Booths this morning and I was overjoyed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.