New Adventures

By P1nkdragen

Lovely Lanark

If your car is going to break down then there's worse places it could happen than New Lanark.

To try and keep the story short - we'd neglected to check the oil in a wee bit too long and it ran out whilst going up the hill after I'd met my boss to check out the hotel for a staff event next year.  The red warning light came on, so I stopped, then walked into Lanark proper to get some oil. (Thought I had some in the back of the car, didn't, got to the nearest petrol station which was closed so ending up walking another 15 minutes to the next...) Once back at the car I started to pour the oil in, then realised I had no idea how much to put in and if it was safe to turn the engine on afterwards, so I googled it and every article said CONTACT A PROFESSIONAL so I rang the AA. 

Luckily I wasn't far from the visitor centre so could get some soup and use the loo whilst I waited.  The AA guy confidently put in far more oil, checked for leaks, started the engine and told me I was lucky to have not caused it any damage.  I now have a reminder in my phone to check the oil every week. Got home safe and sound with the car being perfectly happy.

Shout out to my boss who had an important meeting to go to, so I sent her to the office, but she kept ringing and messaging to see if I needed to be picked up and taken home. She's a good egg. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.