Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2023 Friday — I love Birthdays

Today, Friday, November 17th, has been a quiet, peaceful, lovely day in the book of my life.

Going out to eat is a usual focus of our birthday celebrations, but recently that has changed. So one of today's high points was flowers, not food. Sleepy mid-afternoon arrived and Mr. Fun was nodding toward a nap. I don't nap, so I thought I might sneak off and go enjoy some doodah (window) shopping. At that moment a florist van arrived out front.

Debi of D&D Florist was walking up our stairs with a vase of fragrant beautiful flowers as I opened the front door to welcome her. Flowers that Mr. Fun had ordered for me. Debi delivered flowers here two years ago but I was not here to thank her then. So in 5-minutes today she and I shared our stories and agreed that life is too short not to celebrate. I wish that I had captured a photo with her.

Throughout this day I received texts of cheer and emails too. Cards came by way of the U.S. Mail. This evening my phone rang and the man, our dear friend, who manages our retirement finances sang the “Birthday Song” to me.

It was late evening when I finally opened FaceBook for the first time today. Several of our friends have kids or grandkids born on the 17th day of November . . . I love that, and our son was born on my 16th birthday.

My mom died from cancer when she was 57; I realize birthdays and getting older are a privilege. This has been a lovely 74th birthday. Thank you to everyone who has sent birthday wishes.

I love birthdays!
From Cayucos on
California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.