Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Today was the first time I noticed that it was really really cold outside. But there was no wind, so as long as you kept moving, and kept your hands in your pockets, it was OK. 

AND I had my favourite old hat, which had been discarded in the cupboard since I washed it and it shrunk, oh, at least one winter ago. I had the sudden brainwave: why not soak it again, and this time, STRETCH it... I found a suitable bowl, but it was a perfect fit for my shrunken hat, so I found a bigger saucepan. Perfect! I yanked it around, stuffed the space on top with tea towels and left it for a day. Success! It's much warmer than my replacement hat.

So Archie and I set off, aimlessly, but hopefully including a coffee. We went into one new (to us) cafe, famous for its good coffee, but the tables were very close together, and our one was right next to one with two women squealing at each other (actually, they were just talking, excitedly). Archie and I looked at each other and left, him scrabbling on the wooden floors in his haste to leave.

And so we ended up in Summerhall, which he quite likes. So do I. I even walked all the way home, passing my bus stop with gay abandon...  (6,241 steps). I had been listening to a very sad ABC ‘Conversations’ podcast and I was bubbling away as I walked along, but had to stop listening and regain my composure before going in to cafes.

JR had been busy, after her gym sessions, getting Christmas stuff out - she gets very excited about candles and twinkling lights and greenery all over the mantlepiece. We're having the girls over next week for a festive dinner, and so the table is being 'dressed' already. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.