soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

Waiting

Walking back from Fareshare at lunchtime, I passed my neighbour’s front window and saw her dog and one of her cats staring out rather longingly, waiting for her to return. Though I happen to know she works from home, and wouldn’t be out for long. I liked the way you can see them, and the inside right the way through to her lovely garden, and the reflection of the houses and cars behind me.  This is one of the cats I feed sometimes, and her human feeds my Portia sometimes when I’m away. 
At Fareshare this morning there was another new volunteer - I was asked to train her to do some admin tasks.  She’s lovely - an asylum seeker, living in a hotel - and she is also waiting - in the backlog of applications not yet processed by the Home Office. Once she has her refugee status confirmed - I said fingers crossed, she said Inshallah:) - her daughter will hopefully join her here.  She’s clearly heartbroken to leave her behind. 
She was telling me a little about living in a hotel - she likes the security and appreciates feeling safe there - the hardest thing is not being able to cook. She said they have meals delivered, but they don’t taste of much.  I showed her some shelves where there is donated food which can’t be sent out to the food banks and groups - us volunteers are allowed to take some home.  There are lots of sachets of spices - she was so pleased with them. I look forward to seeing her next week, she was so kind and friendly, and gave me a big hug:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.