Littoral

By MReid

This About Sizes It Up

Backblipped 4.12.23
---------------------------------
Hmm, it doesn't look so grainy in LR, it's just black.  After an understandably broken night's sleep, even with a sleeping pill left over from long haul travel, I checked the time on my phone to find it was 7:20 a.m.  The hotel has very efficient curtains and blackout lining!  Realising I needed a blip for the day, I took a pic of the blackened room.  It seemed appropriate.
Had a disappointing breakfast - which was disappointing because I had no appetite at all and pretty much had to force it down.  Then packed up, checked out, and drove down to the hospital to pick up DH's belongings.  It took a while to find them.  The doctor said they'd be put in the High Dependency Unit, but they weren't there.  Turns out I should have gone to the Medical High Dependency Unit a little further along the corridor.  Anyway, everything was sorted out eventually.  A very helpful ITU nurse helped me carry the belongings out - a small suitcase, a carry-all, and two hospital provided tote bags - and I set out.  He also located the hospital's 'What to do if someone dies at the hospital' booklet, and showed me the first thing I needed to do on Monday morning.
The evening before, a plump Scottish nurse had carried the bags of food out to the car for me - one full of fruit and yogurt drinks, and one with 14 bottles of water - and had given me a hug.  Bless.  That water was heavy.  He'd been so looking forward to the fruit chunks, several staff members mentioned it.
Arrived home in mid-afternoon, unpacked the car, put his clean clothes away (and I'd also taken a bag full of clean laundry down with me, but we'd agreed I'd leave it in the car), put the dirty ones in the laundry basket, unpacked my stuff.
My primary focus at that time was to be ready for an AGM for which I'd said I'd take minutes.  Got that done, told everyone still there at the end re the bereavement.  Had something from the freezer for tea, I've been trying to clear it of stuff DH didn't really like.  And realised I had all the food I'd just bought to consume as well, before it went off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.