ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Highway Star

This is the fourth (6 string) acoustic guitar I’ve blipped in the three and a half years I’ve been doing this, and I picked it up today after trading in my old Yamaha Acoustic and an Ibanez Acoustic Bass I no longer needed - see blip of 28th November.
Looking back, it seems that I tend to change my acoustics about once a year and, checking on blip, I saw that I originally bought the Yamaha around this time last year. I must confess I’ve not really played it that much since then and it’s fair to say I didn’t really get on with it despite it being a superb musical instrument.
This new one is a Fender Highway Acoustic. It’s a slimline acoustic, designed to be played through an amplifier, and to feel familiar to electric guitar players. Regular readers may remember the Fender Acoustasonic I owned for a few months last year. That was supposed to be an instrument that gave you a choice of acoustic and electric “voices”, but I always found the acoustic ones weren’t “acousticy” enough and the electric ones not “electricy” enough, so traded it in for something else after a while.
This is the latest iteration of that idea, and Fender have ditched the “electric” bit completely and just gone for a couple of acoustic tones. A conventional magnetic pickup on the sound hole in conjunction with an under saddle piezo type pickup. There is a blend knob to switch between the two - or have a bit of both. For such a slimline instrument it does have quite a loud unplugged sound though, certainly loud enough for noodling at home.
Will it be a keeper? We’ll have to wait and see…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.