This'n'That

By Nanzy19

That time of year

I had a short walk down Xwaaqw'um today. Lots of wet leaves on the ground, very mucky on the trails and wet in the fields. I enjoyed being out in the fresh air though and didn't get rained on. Had the umbrella just in case.
I took a photo of some of the wet leaves and one of bare branches then combined them in a double exposure using Snapseed. It is that time of year when most of the deciduous trees have lost their leaves, although some are hanging on longer than usual, it seems. Part of the photo in colour in the extra.
I can't believe that I didn't include information on the part of the totem pole that I blipped yesterday, very disrespectful and obviously I know better! The pole is called The Feast. The face in my blip represents the blowhole of the whale. The pole is based on a local Quw’utsun’ legend. The carver is Doug LaFortune, Coast Salish (Qwu’utsun) and Tsawout (W̱SÁNEĆ- Saanich). He explained the legend and his interpretation in an interview in 2012.
The Qwu’utsun people called upon Tzinquaw (Thunderbird) to help them. The Killer Whale was eating all the Salmon in Cowichan Bay and the Salmon were not getting up the river. Tzinquaw helped them by taking the Killer Whale out of the bay and putting it on top of Mount Tzouhalem, the mountain beside the bay, where Tzinquaw ate him. The Spirit-Helper face in the Killer Whale represents the blowhole of the Whale. The face in the fluke (tail) of the Whale represents a (second) Spirit Helper. Doug explained the presence of the eagle: The story was the Thunderbird but I made the figure into an Eagle, I wanted to show the power of it, so I did the legs muscular and strong. 
Here's a link to information above about the totem pole, and you can get an idea of the different parts of it from the sketch in the link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.