Littoral

By MReid

The Flowers

I took my walk at lunchtime today, not intentionally but because I was too indolent to get up earlier.  Also, the weather was truly foul - high winds and heavy rain.  There seemed to be a bit of a window mid-day.  There was wind, but it was warm, and the rain was of the light/drizzly variety.  Walked out to the lifeboat shed and back.
Thinking I'd missed the postman because of the late departure, I was actually relieved.  Sympathy cards can be difficult.  But I had not.  There were some cards, the death certificates, and a box of flowers from Marks. The death certs were set aside.  The flowers were put in a vase, as seen above, and were from the company that indirectly paid DH's salary.  One of the cards was totally unexpected, from the company that supplied most of his gansey yarn.
Well, weeping is therapeutic.  That's what I'm hoping, anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.