Maureen6002

By maureen6002

In search of waxwings

For several weeks, there has been a buzz of excitement amongst local and not-so-local twitchers; a flock of waxwings seem to have settled in Llysfaen, a village on the outskirts of Colwyn Bay. But somehow, we’ve just not managed to make the very short trip to see them.  So many days of grey skies - or worse, and when the weather’s been good,  there’s always been something else needing our attention. 

So today’s the day; dry, milky skies allow weak sunshine, so we head off in search of waxwings.  Initially, we’re out of luck, meeting others wandering with their binoculars, gazing at trees but with no sign of the waxwings. It’s at this point, I realise that after yesterday’s late night editing session, my memory card is at home rather than in my camera, so it’s just as well the birds are nowhere to be seen! 

It’s back home, then to the hairdresser’s for my pre-Christmas cut, and finally we try again, though in a different place. The trio of photographers sporting telephoto lenses  suggests this may be the place - though this street of houses seems unlikely. We settled down to wait, and almost immediately a flock descends on the tree opposite. I’m thrilled, to say the least.

They stay there for several minutes, individuals flying up, circling and returning to their perch, their strange trilling whistles  filling the air. Then suddenly, they all  fly off. At first, I’ve no idea where they’ve gone, but then realise they’re in the trees just behind me, feeding on the berries! I can’t believe my luck, and neither can the other photographers, one of whom has been here for several hours. 

It’s such a thrill to see these winter visitors - Wales just isn’t on their normal radar. So elegant and beautiful - though the dark streaks across their eyes can make them look quite angry. I think we may well try to see them again, ideally when they’re. feasting on red berries, but for now I feel truly blessed! 

The rest of the day is spent completing the pavlovas I made yesterday, then on to our neighbour’s Christmas party. 

Thanks so much for your encouragement in terms of my orchestral shots. So many people said they liked the sheet music on the floor I feel so much better about them now! 

As for today, I’m afraid I can’t resist a few extras. I’ve been torn between the main and first extra. The latter is the better photograph in terms of quality, but I think the main’s more interesting ….. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.