ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Bad Luck And The Blues

Laurence Jones last played Kendal in 2017, but I think I missed that gig, so the last time I saw him would have been when he supported Kenny Wayne Shepherd in - I think -2016. Now he’s on a small headline tour and Brewery Arts Centre was the last date. Support was from Blue Nation, normally a trio but, for this tour, just performing as an acoustic duo. Superb voices and a great line in chat between songs.
Laurence was as good as I remember with some blistering guitar solos. A great show, though the low ceiling in the Malt Room did tend to distort the sound at times - a problem for any “loud” band playing in that space. The good news was that he promised not to leave it so long before returning and said he’d be back next year.
Today has been all about Panto rehearsal. We have limped our way through nearly the entire show, with as much scenery, costumes and props as possible.
There’s a lot still to work on, but it’s definitely getting there. I’m not able to make another rehearsal until after Christmas now, so I need to make sure I’m line perfect by the next one - I was only about 50% there this afternoon. And I hope my costume turns up - it has mysteriously gone missing!
Tomorrow is visit the relatives (alive and dead!) day, so it’s an early start to get down to Chester. Aunt, sister, mother and two graveyards to visit before we have to get back. It’s going to be a long day…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.