Groggster

By Groggster

Being Frank About Bivalves

Today's image was taken on another quick trip out to West Malling. We needed a few essentials and didn't really fancy the more crowded streets of Maidstone and if it also happened to involve a pint at The Five Pointed Star so be it!
My attention was drawn to this really rather jolly depiction of a moustachioed chef's profile (with added yuletide embellishment) on the outside wall of Frank's Restaurant and Mussel Bar on the High Street housed in what used to be the town's bakery. It's a wonderfully characterful building which dates back to the 16th Century with an open log fire and exposed beams.
Frank's forte is mussels cooked 21 different ways which is unfortunately 21 more ways than I am open to. I had a bad experience on a works outing to Brands Hatch motor racing circuit over 30 years ago (it's stuck in my memory for that long!) where an extensive array of shellfish set out for our delectation had been left out on a warm and sunny day for too long. I won't go into any further detail but I haven't touched shellfish since!
So my apologises to Frank, I shouldn't have let one bad experience cloud my judgement - I really do need to get over my bivalve mollusc based prejudice and be a bit braver in my culinary habits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.