Choose Joy

By Energia

Not tiny

It is not tiny for Tiny Tuesday, it is actually a huge honking ornament and since I put up three ornaments in total it is easily the biggest one on the tree. It is all thanks to tookie because tookie knows how to do ornaments for me, from the cicada ornament two years ago to the Cheetos last year to this one this year to celebrate my show.

Tookie, you’re so awesome. 

Thank you.

This morning I got the final photographers pictures. They sent them low resolution making it very easy to upload. They’ll send higher resolution when they know which ones are selected by the kids. I decided how to do the survey and now I’m basically sending everyone an email describing the survey process and asking what they think. 

Two photographers sent in a bunch of photos and it makes more sense to get the release forms once you know which pictures are chosen. If you are a generally negative person, like I am, you assume that they won’t actually be able to get release forms for all the people they submitted pictures of. 

I have a donor to pay for 25 pictures to be printed. 

For 24 people I have multiple pictures. I have set it up so that for those 24 people the kids pick the picture of the person they like best rather than choose one person over another. This also guarantees me age, race, and size diversity. 

Then I have a bunch of people that I have one picture of. For that bunch I ask the respondents to choose their favorite five. From this pooled set I will pick the most popular ones to be the 25th and to replace whoever I don’t get release forms for. 

What do you think? 

It gives an unfair advantage to the ones with multiple pictures. It guarantees I keep diversity in the final set. I realized tonight that it also guarantees that all of mine make it, and I really don’t want any of my brave folks to not be chosen. I think they would be hurt. 

Ukraine blew up a Russian warship. Putin was even briefed about the “damage.” The ship probably had munitions on it which meant that the explosion was extra exciting. Britain and France gave Ukraine cruise missiles and Ukraine used cruise missiles in the attack. Russia has hinted it may try to take more territory along the Black Sea Coast and Putin said Odessa is a Russian city. It will be harder to do that now. Zelensky joked that Ukraine just added to Russia’s submarine fleet. 

Two Russian vessels left afterwards. 

Latvia has been confiscating cars from drunk drivers. They were planning to give them to Ukraine. Nearly $1 million in cars have been moved. For some reason Latvia has the highest drunk driving rate in Europe. Last month Latvia banned cars registered in Russia from driving in Latvia. They are confiscating those cars and sending them to Ukraine too. This helps Ukraine and it helps Latvia because Latvia was running out of lots to hold all the cars. The cars go to a non-profit that gets them to soldiers. 

You remember the Netherlands said they will give Ukraine F-16s? In the future? Russia is so amazing they have already downed some of them. Sort of like how they destroyed more HIMARS than were ever given to Ukraine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.