Norm53

By Norm53

Close To Home

This is my 2024 Calendar titled Close To Home by a former Landscape Photographer of the Year Mark Littlejohn.
He used to live and work in Penrith and I first met him one misty morning, stood IN Ullswater taking a photo of a famous boathouse. Calling him a character would be an understatement.
He moved up to the North West of Scotland and the next time I saw him was when me and Sal rented a cottage in Badachro nr Gairloch. It was six in the morning and there was a fabulous sunrise. I heard a car brake sharply, a door slam and lo and behold Mark was stood next to me with his camera! He had bought a croft just along the road at Opinon beach, a place so special to me and was on his way back from Gairloch Golf Club where he had left his car overnight after having a few too many drams.
Anyway, the title of the calendar comes from this view. It’s a view looking down on Loch Maree and, as he states, once you see this view you know you are close to home. Once seen, this view will never be forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.