PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Retro

I have been trying to sew, but there is so little natural light that it is very difficult. Then I remembered the last time I had my sewing machine out and I could not show what I was doing. I can now.

When I asked whether there was anything anyone particularly wanted for Christmas (last year they all said hats and I am pleased to say that the hats seem to be still in use), I heard the word 'stationery' - highlighters, post it notes, pens. So I set about, and had great fun, making up stationery boxes - five of them. We had a lovely hour or so in Ryman's in Kendal, as I found they had the boxes I wanted, and we could go about choosing basic items (in fives). I added some unusual notebooks etc. later.

Then I decided to make pencil cases. I bought the zips and used fabric and thread etc. that I had. How to make a case with a zip and lining took some figuring out . . . and then I made five of them!!

Anyway the boxes were handed over and I described them as retro boxes for the computer age. I think they were well-received. I certainly saw them dipping into them at times during their stay. 

And the secret of the hats - chocolate oranges hidden inside. These were certainly well-received. 


Note
Tonight on BBC2 - it's the account of Alice Robert's visit to the Roman dig in Carlisle. We have followed this over the last few years and I have blipped progress several times. In fact we remember that she had made the visit the day before one of our visits. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.