Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Things that go bump …

… in the afternoon.

I was walking home from town when I tripped on an iron grate, head butted a tree, went flying, and gashed my thumb open on the pavement. They fixed me up in the local minor injuries unit, after an initial assessment by one of TSM’s nurse colleagues. Unfortunately my beanie got soaked in blood as it was all I had to manage the injury as I staggered home. It was quite a deep gash and TSM sent a picture of it to all her colleagues, one of whom said it put her off her twiglets. I also have a big bump on my head and a badly bruised ego.

TSM yelled at me when she came back from the office to sort me out. I had washed the wound in vodka then poured myself a whisky. I had seen Matt Damon do this in one of the Bourne movies so assumed it was standard medical procedure.

The nurse who looked after me was very good. She was from California and not at all bothered when I started yelling the eff word when my thumb was cleaned up and steri-stripped. Being from America she has probably seen a few gunshot wounds so a man falling over in Woking was no big deal. It was very painful but I didn’t get a sticker as I wasn’t a brave boy.

I am taking the tree out for a beer at the weekend by way of an apology. Its name is Ash (short for Ashley) and it was very good about the whole business. 

Earlier I published my latest podcast which you can find here, so I had had a busy morning; in fact I got up at 5am as I was wide awake. Strider and I also had a nice stroll on the boardwalks on the common and an alcohol free beer in Marcianos, so things were going swimmingly until I fell over.

I don’t have concussion, didn’t smash my glasses, or break anything. Lucky escape really. Always look on the bright side of life etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.