campervan man

By campervan

Naughty but very very nice

I have been driving a wonderful lady of Italian descent to hospital in Cambridge now for about 3 years. The whole driver volunteer team is involved so I only see her once every 3 to 4 months. She is now 92 and as bright as a button. We talk about many subjects for the 90 minute drive to the hospital and she force feeds me sweets and chocolates on the way back.
For Christmas she gave everyone a panettone. Not just any old panettone but one from a small bakery in London run by a family of Sicilian bakers, real traditional stuff.
This has been hidden from all our guests over Christmas and New Year, I had my first couple of slices for lunch today. It is like eating a cloud, a lemony orangey flavored puff of air. 
We have all told her she is silly and should not be so generous but, as she says, giving us presents gives her pleasure. And at lunch time today I gave me pleasure too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.