Groggster

By Groggster

A Melancholy Glow

Today's image is of one of the little Christmas lanterns that we have decorating our dining room table. It will soon be time to pack them away again for another year and this always leaves me feeling a little melancholic, as the Christmas holiday is nearly over. So I thought I should capture their yuletide glow for one last time.

I was really sad to hear about the death of Bill Granger, the Australian self-taught cook who became a restauranteur and best selling food writer, at the tragically young age of 54.
He will be remembered as the 'King of Breakfast', for making unpretentious food into something special and for spurring the growth of Australian informal and communal eating around the world.
I first came across him when his TV series "Bill's Food" was aired on BBC2 in the mid 2000's. He came across as such a gentle, kind, calm and sunny soul. I have at least three of his cookbooks and I swear by his recipes which are always easy to follow and produce delicious results. R.I.P Bill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.