BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Remembering

I was faced with the choice of attending 2 funerals today at approximately the same time. I went to support long-standing neighbours and friends whose 93 year old mother (of the wife) had died after nine and a half years in a care home. It was where my late mother in law had been in care.

As ever, you learn more about people at these events. The lady, Anne, had been in intelligence in the Foreign Office and had deciphered the message identifying Burgess and MacLean as spies; had met Gaddafi and had volunteered in many roles throughout her life. It was a lovely, emotional and heartfelt service.

I realised that it was 30 years ago last week that I was at the crematorium for my father’s funeral. So many memories came flooding back.

Our son then informed me that my father’s uncle - William - had died on this day 100 years ago precisely. He had been a railway worker and eventually a station master and is buried at Canonbie in Dumfriesshire near Langholm. I attach a screenshot of some photos of William from the early 1920s which our son has collated. As my father was born in March 1924 they never met.

It is a busy time of year for funerals.

On a lighter note I went this afternoon to friends for drinks and nibbles where I met up with other school friends, some not seen for a few years. A good end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.