KimberlyJenkins

By KimberlyJenkins

"Sonnen-Alle"

I was dead today. The weather dropped around 10 degrees and I always get migraines with big weather changes. ugh. Despite that, the morning was typical. Woke up. Went to school, but only had one class! Wochenende!! After school we went to Marius's house and then went to the Altstadt to go shopping. We went in two gummy bear stores, a chocolate store, and the typical clothing stores. I bought some gifts for friends and just chilled the rest of the time, because we had plans to shop the next day with Hanna and Maddie and will have more time to spare. We went home and I was able to have an hour nap (ahhhh) and then we went to the store. The similarities and differences were extremely fascinating. First, I guess to make sure you don't steal the carts, you have to put 1 euro coin in to the cart to unlock it, and you get it back at the end when you lock it back up. Then Franzie's dad helped us pick out what kind of alcohol we should bring to a party we're going to tomorrow and then her father talked to me about how crazy some German kids are with drinking and that I need to be careful at the party when Franzie walked away (how nice yeah?). When it came to the food, however, there are some of the same brands as America but mostly not. They had me pick out some of the things I wanted to eat and I really had no idea what I should have gotten. Everything looked the same. All the fruit, however looked soooo fresh and delicious. (: Fruit seems to be very popular here, but not so much with vegetables. There are a looottttt of sweets, so it seems like overall the eating habits aren't as healthy, but they are in small amounts so I have no idea. After this we went home and ate pancakes BUT not with syrup. But with nutella and jelly. (mine with just nutella). I'm beginning to understand what is going on at the dinner table and can actually contribute to the conversation some. emphasis on the some, though. I talked to Herr Dieter about how he and Frau Angelica are trekkies and about the book and figurine collection they have. (Their relationship is really adorable). And I also talked to Katherina about her horse and she offered to let me ride it! whoop!! After dinner we went to a local theater where her school's theater class was putting on a play. The name was Sonnen-Alle and was about a street in Berlin when Germany was split into East and West. It was hilarious. I didn't understand most of it, but what I did I really enjoyed!! Oh, and another plus, one of the main characters was super attractive. So thats always nice. Yup, so that was my day. I hope yours was also awesome. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.