LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

I Spy…..

I spy with my little eye something growing from my avocado stone. After months of careful nurture, I see a little stem inching towards the light. A tap root appeared about 6 weeks ago and I planted the stone with the root in compost  2 weeks ago  and waited to see if anything would happen. This is the result. The seedling is known to me as a she/her just because girls are survivors. I speak to her and keep her in the warm cupboard with the hot water tank, only taking her out to sit on the window ledge when it gets light. It’s almost as good as having a pet to care for!

I had a sortie to the Art College Café this morning to thank the staff for their amazing Christmas Dinner which was enjoyed so much by the Maggie’s group I belong to. The place was very quiet, apparently the students aren’t back yet. Not only was the café quiet, but the walk to the Library was also quiet. No need to navigate an influx of tourists who have momentarily gone back to their own homes. George Square was also empty save for the random Chinese student and with the rain unable to stay away it was a pretty miserable experience to be outside.
The light is fading and it’s cold at the window, it’s now time to put my seedling into the warm room,  Single glazing in this day and age and in this climate is a crime against humanity ……..and little avocado seedlings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.