Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

DAY FOUR (Brisbane)

Had a good sleep last night, with just a brief interlude about midnight to do my blip, then back to sleep. All good! !

JR went to the gym this morning, then we went out to look for the free 'round the city' bus. We were not quite at the actual bus stop, but the bus driver saw us gesticulating frantically and stopped. I told him that wouldn't happen in Edinburgh - if you're not at the stop - too bad.

We saw a few city sights. I do love the old buildings in amongst the high risers. We got off near the Botanical Gardens. Unfortunately, it started to rain. Not so much rain as a very fine mist that you hardly noticed, till you realised you were soaked. J had an umbrella, and I actually have brought a fold up raincoat for just such occasions, but didn't bring it out with me - DUH!

So we didn't walk too far in the dampness. Saw our first kookaburra, so that was quite exciting. Got the bus back into town, and went to the Apple Shop. My phone has been playing up - well, the diary part. I'd add in Jazz Club 6pm and it would change it to Jazz club 8am. The woman in the Apple Shop tried a couple of things, and then had to go and ask another person, but we got it sorted, and we both learned something.

JR then went to organise an ANZ card at the bank (she still has some Kiwi $$$ that we can access here). I went to the hotel swimming pool, surrounded by the skyscrapers. Neat! Also, there's a bbq area, and a lap pool. Terrific central city accommodation. It’s surrounded by some very ritzy shops!

We went to the Jazz Club in the evening, and it was brilliant, but that will have to wait. Just home, free ferry across the river, then not far to walk. I'm stuffed, though I think I'm getting acclimatised...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.